Where the Wild Things Are

Movie Poster

Where the Wild Things Are written and illustrated by Maurice Sendak

I don’t go to the theatres very often, in general I think it’s a waste of money so I rent instead. The exception is animated movies. The last time I went to the theatres I saw Monsters vs. Aliens in 3D and I kept the glasses just in case I could use them for sunglasses(which you can’t by the way). Although I could use them to go see Up.

But what I really want to see is Where the Wild Things Are. First of all the book was a childhood fav, and second of all the posters are really dandy. The posters standout to me even though they are monochromatic; I think it’s the stripes that really grab your eye and pull them down to the words. The type is all very dandy because instead of a child-like typeface, these letters actually differ from each other and make me believe they are truly hand done which is very fitting and a nice contrast to the real images and cg wild thing. The poster with the large monster has great cropping, showing just a hint of smile on the top and leaving the viewers who don’t remember the book to wonder what’s going on.

And finally, the child screaming looks exactly like I had pictured him from the book so many years ago, don’t you think?

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

