The Tomato Report

Some friends of mine just got married and because I think gift registries are awfully impersonal I had to come up with something unique, meaningful and personal for this couple to share. They are big movie buffs so it wasn’t long before I realised that I should do something movie-esque for them. But what? Then it hit me, I would turn them into movie critics by creating a book with questions in which to rate movies on. This project started small and soon exploded into 13 sections with genre specific questions. The title, The Tomato Report was inspired by the website where anyone can rate and leave comments on recent films they have seen, Rotten Tomatoes. I couldn’t get away from that great name but the website didn’t take advantage of the name and how easily it could be played with. So I changed the name a bit for my book and illustrated genre specific tomatoes with oil pastels. Here are a few of my tomatoes that I think are quite dandy.

Action and Adventure Tomato

Action and Adventure Tomato

Crime Tomato

Crime Tomato

Documentary with a comb-over Tomato

Documentary with a comb-over Tomato

Murder Tomato

Murder Tomato

Fantasy Tomato

Fantasy Tomato

These are all unedited versions of my illustrations. The final version of the illustrations and book will be on my website http://www.kyliemarie.ca soon.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

