How to Vent like an Artist

Everyone needs to vent about something every once in a while. My poor boyfriend, I just call him up randomly or, like early this morning, text him to go off about whatever it is that’s bugging me. Texting is probably the way to go about this because then you can say what you want to somebody but not have them interrupt your rant or try to fix it. Smart boy that he is just texted back “I’m sorry some people are idiots”. Exactly. Some people are just idiots. And before I turn this entire blog into a giant rant, let’s just get to the point.

Because art is what I do, I vented in the form of my best friend Adobe Illustrator. I created “Hi my name is…” people to vent with. They have name tags where I can insert such things as “Hi my name is…Kylie’s boss and I’m an idiot!”* or “Hi my name is…Kylie and I’m not allowed to think outside of the box!”. It’s amazing how something so childish makes me feel so much better. It’s the artist’s version of the punching bag that won’t fall over, or the face tacked up to the dart board. Maybe venting or ranting is childish itself so the only want to let go of these feelings is in a childish way.

I think I’m really going to get good use out of these name tag people.

Click the images to get a larger version for your own personal rant.

*Just so you don’t get the wrong picture, this was an example. Technically right now I am my own boss…
Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

